Give your students a trip abroad – no passport required.

join the American Shakespeare Center for an interactive, personalized dive into Shakespeare.

Our Student Matinee series is one of the best ways to bring Shakespeare to life for your students. Whether it’s a first-time visit to a performing art venue for your students to experience the live arts, or an opportunity to bring the page to life as a supplement to your curriculum, the Student Matinee series has something for every class. Let our actors bring light to the world of Shakespeare and many other titles that align with your lesson plans in a way that will illuminate the lessons of humanity and leave the next generation with a deep appreciation for the beauty of these timeless works.

Your experience begins with a performance in the world’s only re-creation of Shakespeare’s indoor theatre, the Blackfriars Playhouse.  With a Student Matinee booking, you’ll receive a FREE study guide to supplement your lesson plans and unleash the wonder of Shakespeare in the classroom before and after the show. Enhance your experience with a hands-on workshop or a Playhouse Tour. 

By putting words into action, our comprehensive approach sends students back to the classroom with a fresh look and appreciation for curriculum titles (and more).

Your customizable visit starts at just $20 per student.

Reserve now

Current Offerings

2020

Twelfth Night | Othello | A Christmas Carol

Tuesday, September 8 at 10:30 AMTwelfth Night
Wednesday, September 9 at 10:30 AMTwelfth Night
Thursday, September 17 at 10:30 AMOthello
Thursday, October 8 at 10:30 AMOthello
Thursday, October 15 at 10:30 AMOthello
Thursday, October 22 at 10:30 AMOthello
Thursday, October 29 at 10:30 AMOthello
Thursday, November 5 at 10:30 AMOthello
Thursday, November 19 at 10:30 AMOthello
Tuesday, November 24 at 10:30 AMOthello
Wednesday, December 2 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Thursday, December 3 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Friday, December 4 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Wednesday, December 9 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Thursday, December 10 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Friday, December 11 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Wednesday, December 16 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Thursday, December 17 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol
Friday, December 18 at 10:30 AM
A Christmas Carol

make your reservation now:   Click here

CUSTOMIZE YOUR EXPERIENCE

In addition to world-class performances, we offer behind-the-scenes tours of the playhouse, as well as hands-on workshops on topics intended to cure your students’ ShakesFear.  Add one or more of these options to your visit to create a learning adventure for your class unlike any other.

Subsidies

Through our generous grant from NEA, Shakespeare in American Communities, we are happy to extend financial assistance for schools meeting the criteria for subsidy funding. If your school may be eligible, please take a moment to submit an application for review.


 

Further Questions?